Must Read Books by African Authors

In case your wonder where have I been lately, I’ve been reading great books by African authors and I’ve now collected a great list. Here’s my top picks, enjoy!

 1

Diaries of a Dead African – Chuma Nwokolo 

This book, told through two generations, tells the story of how rumors, envy and caring about what others said influenced the way the Jumais lived their lives.               

                                                     

2

Arrow of Godd – Chinua Achebe 

This book is set in the 1920’s, before secularism became dominant. I enjoyed reading this book because I felt it did a great outlook about the conflict between generation, old and new traditions, and the impact of colonialism on African tribal communities.

3

Is it Coz I’m Black? – Ndumiso Ngcobo  

This book draws no border line when it comes to color and what it means to be apartheid. This is a must read for anyone who is inspired to know more about South Africa.

4

Happiness is a Four-Letter Word – Cynthia Jele    

I enjoyed reading this book and it reminded me of an African version of sex and the city. Jele covers the challenges of friendships and relationships of four ladies who are in search of happiness.

5

The Secret Lives of Baba Segi’s Wives – Lola Shoneyin

This is my favorite book so far and completely blew my mind when I read it. This book is about a polygamous family that is not aware they will be imploded. The fourth wife, Bolanle, has not conceived a child in two years of marriage, thus setting in motion the unraveling of the lives of everyone in the house.  I don’t want to reveal too much but the wives in this novel are so unpredictable.

 Other great books I plan to read by African authors:

The Stone Virgins – Yvonne Vera
When Rain Clouds Gather – Bessie Head
The Beautyful Ones Are Not Yet Born – Ayi Kwei Armah
Black Diamond/Ways of Dying – Zakes Mda
Men of the South – Zukiswa Wanner
Who Fears Death – Nnedi Okorafor
On Black Sisters’ Street – Chika Unigwe
Underground People – Lewis Nkosi
Waiting for the Rain – Charles Mungoshi
A Simple Lust – Dennis Brutus
The Setting Sun and the Rolling World – Charles Mungoshi
Walking with Shadows – Jude Dibia
Wife of the Gods – Kwei Quartey

2 responses to “Must Read Books by African Authors

  • Esther K.

    Hi. I’m Esther based in Dar. I was Searchin For Something and just Saw Your Blog. I Am Also A Lover Of Books And Own Several Blogs 🙂 Including Vitabu-50-books.tumblr.com ….. How Can I Get Yours? The Secret Lives Of Baba Segi’s Wives.. Seems Interesting I Am Leavin My Email, Maybe U Can Email Back?. Es

    • Rahwa Meharena

      Hi Esther. You can get most of these books on Amazon.com, taht is how I got mines. Amazon is global so they should be able to ship it to you. Best of luck and thank you for showing support!

Leave a Reply

